Margarita Cookies

As some of you may know, my favorite drink is a margarita! So when I found a recipe for margarita cookies, I couldn’t pass it up!

IMG_1861

Ingredients:

1 C butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

finely grated rind of 1 lime

1 egg yolk, slightly beaten

1 tsp orange extract (or 2 tsp orange liqueur)

2 1/2 C all-purpose flour

pinch of salt

IMG_1868

Icing:

1 1/4 C powdered sugar

2 Tbsp white tequila

IMG_1863

Preheat  oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheets  with parchment paper. Put butter, sugar, and lime  rind into a bowl and mix well with a wooden spoon.

IMG_1865

Beat in egg yolk and orange extract (or liqueur).

IMG_1866

Add flour and salt. Mix until thoroughly combined.

IMG_1867

Roll dough into inch balls and  flatten gently onto baking sheet. Bake for 10-15 minutes, until light golden brown.

IMG_1869

Let cool for 5 minutes on baking sheet before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

IMG_1870

Once cool, start on the icing. As I was stirring, the mixture was not turning into an icing. I had to add more tequila to it. I just poured so I don’t have an exact measurement. Just make sure you get the icing consistency.

IMG_1871

Use a spoon to drizzle icing over cookies. Let set until hardened.

IMG_1874

Now those are some good cookies! The icing has the taste of tequila which is an added bonus! Most people assumed that the tequila would be baked into the cookies. I am taking these to a cookie exchange at work and will be warning people that you will be able to taste the alcohol. Please be careful if you have children at home! Hope you enjoy!

XO

Hollie

 

One thought on “Margarita Cookies

  1. Pingback: Danish Butter Cookies | Cooking Is My Sport

Leave a comment